We are delighted to announce the opening of our new Information Point at no. 47 Gainsborough Street, adjacent to our temporarily closed Gainsborough’s House Museum.
The Information Point provides a welcome point for visitors to be kept informed about the redevelopment of Gainsborough’s House with staff and volunteers on hand to answer any queries.
Graphic wall displays, including a fascinating timeline of the history of Gainsborough’s House and an impressive regional map highlighting the rich artistic cultural venues in East Anglia, offer a visual background to the museum and gallery’s sense of place.
A small but carefully curated changing display of artefacts from our collection will be on view, commencing with a fascinating glimpse into the life of Cedric Lockwood Morris (1889-1982), an important figure in the story of East Anglian artists and a key figure in the future redeveloped Gainsborough’s House. We hold the largest single collection of Morris’s artwork, as well as a growing archive of material relating to both Morris and the East Anglian School of Painting and Drawing, which Morris founded with his partner Arthur Lett-Haines in 1937.
There will be the opportunity to book on one of our heritage tours taking in the points of interest around Sudbury, which are connected with Gainsborough. A selection of greetings cards and books on Gainsborough, Constable and Cedric Morris are available to purchase, alongside beautiful gifts made with Sudbury silk.
I’m so pleased we can continue to engage with our visitors and supporters during closure. This can be a challenging time for a project and we are delighted that we are able to maintain a public face and keep everyone up to date with the progress of our project, which is so important to the town of Sudbury and to the region as a whole. We do hope that people will drop in and see us and continue to support Gainsborough’s House.
Mark Bills Director of Gainsborough’s House
Thomas Gainsborough (1727-88) was born in Sudbury and baptised at the Independent Meeting-House in Friars Street on 14 May 1727, the fifth son and ninth child of John and Mary Gainsborough. In 1958, Gainsborough’s House Society was formed to purchase the house and establish it as a centre for Thomas Gainsborough. The Museum opened to the public in 1961 and has remained open for over 50 years. The beautiful historic garden at the heart of Gainsborough’s House is maintained by a devoted body of volunteers, who garden exclusively with plants that were available in Gainsborough’s lifetime.
Gainsborough’s House Society , Charity No. 1170048 and Company Limited by Guarantee No. 10413978